1worker1vote is building a national network of hybrid, shared ownership, regional and municipal ecosystems starting with unionized worker-owned cooperative businesses to overcome structural inequalities of opportunity, mobility, and income. Building pathways out of poverty leading to pathways toward prosperity.

Co-Founders & Advisory Board


There are 10 co-founders of 1worker1vote.org. Here’s a little more about us…

Kristen Barker
Passionate union worker co-op catalyst, mother, community organizer; co-founder of CoopCincy

Christopher Cooper
Committed to empowering people by helping to create economic opportunity; program coordinator at the Ohio Employee Ownership Center

William Generett Jr.
Working to make sure that all communities are connected to the new economy; founding CEO of Urban Innovation21 and now Vice President for Community Engagement, Duquesne University.

Carmen Huertas-Noble
Professor of Law at CUNY Law School; founding executive director for the CUNY LAW Community Economic Development Clinic (CEDC), recipient of the 2020 U.S. Cooperative Community Hall of Fame award

Michael Peck
Executive Director of 1worker1vote, co-founder of The Virtuous Cycle Collaboratory (tvc2) –  a MBE worker cooperative  & social enterprise whose mission is to flatten the curves” with virtuous cycles, former International Delegate (USA) for the Mondragón Co-operative Corporation (1999 –2019), board secretary for the American Sustainable Business Council, and Blue Green Alliance corporate advisory board member

Missy Risser
Public interest attorney committed to social, racial, and economic justice; attorney with the Urban Justice Center’s Community Development Project, now Professor of Law at CUNY Law School and affiliated with the CUNY LAW Community Economic Development Clinic (CEDC)

Elizabeth Sholes
Union co-op catalyst organizing California progressive faith communities, labor, immigrant groups, and communities of color

Amber Taylor
Communications expert for nonprofits and socially responsible businesses; owner of Taylored Communications

Ellen Vera
Co-founder of Coop Cincy and former National Manufacturing Organizing Coordinator for the  IUE-CWA

Rob Witherell
Developer of the union co-op model and union organizer, United Steelworkers


Leo Gerard, former International President, United Steelworkers (USW)

Tom Conway, current International President, United Steelworkers (USW)

Bob King, former International President, United Autoworkers (UAW)

Steve Sleigh, former International Machinists (IAM) Pension Fund executive director

Sara Horowitz, founder and former CEO, Freelancers Union

Ra Criscitiello, Deputy Research Director,  Service Employees International Nurses Union (SEIU-UHW)

Erica Staley, Executive Director, Chicago Manufacturing Renaissance

Linda Fowler, Founder and President, Regionerate

Lisa Bolton, National Vice President for Telecommunications & Technologies, Communications Workers of America (CWA)

David Wilhelm, former Chair, Democratic National Committee (DNC)

Visit Us On Facebook